Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

Berkshire Community Land Trust and Community Land Trust in the Southern Berkshires share board members and office infrastructure.

A Community Land Trust is governed by a three-part volunteer Board of Trustees. The board is designed to be representative and balanced in its administration of the organization’s activities and assets. The Trustees usually meet at least six times a year and host an annual member meeting.

The board of the Community Land Trust in the Southern Berkshires is nine residents of Southern Berkshire County. Three Leasing Member Representatives are elected by other leaseholders. Three Non-Leasing Member Representatives are elected by the general membership. Three  Professional Community Representatives are appointed by the general membership for their expertise. They may include attorneys, accountants, architects, real estate agents, land-use planners, etc.

For details on the CLTSB board structure see our Bylaws.

The members of the 2017 CLTSB and BCLT Board of Trustees are:
Leasing Member Representatives: Bill Allen, Peter Stanton, Robin Zeamer
Non-Leasing Member Representatives: Kathy Orlando, Joyce Scheffey, Adam Sugarman
Professional Community Representatives: Harry Conklin, John Fulop, Sam VanSant
Board Member Emeritus: Susan Witt
Co-Founders: Susan Witt and Robert Swann

The Board of Trustees of the Berkshire Community Land Trust has the same structure as the board of CLTSB. However, BCLT Bylaws specify that the lease holding members of the BCLT board (no more than one third of board members) may be selected from community land trusts other than CLTSB.

Heading Illustration courtesy of Michael McCurdy

Comments are closed